Kish and caps invaluable experience in promotion season

WHEN RADOSTIN Kishishev signed for the Albion in the summer of 2010, they acquired the services of an experienced international footballer to help in their push for promotion from the third tier.

That ‘Kish’ was 35 at the time might have been a concern but the nous he brought to the side more than compensated for the inevitability that his best years were behind him.

As manager Gus Poyet told the Argus: “He is an excellent professional and has kept himself in superb shape throughout his career.

“His quality is obvious, there is no doubt about that, but we had to be sure about his fitness. But he has proved that age is no barrier.

“That experience and quality will bring a lot to the team and will also help our younger players in their development.”

With 88 caps for Bulgaria to his credit (he was in his country’s Euro ’96 squad for the tournament in England, then played in the 1998 World Cup in France and was involved up to 2009), Kishishev had seen Premier League action with Charlton Athletic, mainly as a right-back, as well as playing for Leicester City and Leeds United, when Poyet was assistant manager to Dennis Wise.

Kishishev expressed his gratitude to Poyet for rescuing his English football career at Brighton. “I thought I was going to retire after moving back to Bulgaria,” he said. “I thought I would stay there and finish my career.

“I am very pleased with the way things have worked out and I really appreciate the chance I have been given to play for Brighton.”

In a matchday programme article, he said: “My desire for football is still so strong. As a footballer you should keep plying for as long as you can because you are a long time retired.”

However, in the autumn of 2010, Kishishev was indicating his stay on the south coast would only be for the one season because of the wear and tear he was feeling.

After being part of the side in season-defining away wins 3-0 at Peterborough and 4-0 at his old club Charlton, he told the Argus: “It is becoming harder and harder every year. My legs are getting tired and painful so it’s difficult to continue playing.”

Nonetheless, Kishishev was heavily involved throughout the season, starting a total of 25 games and coming on as a substitute in 11 others.

He missed a couple of months of action when allowed compassionate leave to return to Bulgaria, but Poyet was glad to welcome him back in March 2011 to bring a steadying influence to the final run-in.

For instance, after coming on as a sub when Albion eventually overcame Carlisle 4-3, Poyet said: “Kish came on and understood the game better than anyone else on the pitch.

“He knew where the danger was, how to pass it, when to make a foul. That is down to experience and quality, so I’m pleased to have him back.”

Kishishev was released in May 2011 and he returned to Bulgaria to play one last season with the club where it all began for him 20 years earlier: Chernomorets Burgas.

He started 16 League games for them, came on as a substitute in three more, and played his final game on 19 May 2012 in a 1-1 home draw with Locomotiv Sofia.

The background to his compassionate leave became public a few months later when in October 2012 his wife died of cervical cancer aged just 38. She had first been diagnosed with the illness while Kishishev was in the UK playing for the Albion.

Born in the Black Sea coastal city of Burgas on 30 July 1974, Kishishev also made 75 appearances for the city’s Neftochimik side and although he subsequently moved to Turkey to play for Bursapor, after only 20 games in six months there he returned to Bulgaria in January 1998 to join Litex Lovech, who he helped to win two league titles (1998 and 1999).

The bulk of his English career was spent in the top flight with Charlton under Alan Curbishley, and on a return visit to The Valley in 2017, Kishishev told the Charlton website: “It was always good when we beat the best teams. Arsenal; we beat them 1-0 on New Year’s Day and I think Graham Stuart scored. Chelsea; we beat them in their first year of Roman Abramovich on Boxing Day. 

“I have great memories of games first of all, and then the crowd. The warmness they gave me all the time is one of the first things I remember. 

“When I look back, I was one of Curbs’ favourite players. He always picked me and believed in my skills and ability, and I was so glad to have been part of that great team.”

Towards the end of his Charlton days, he joined Leeds United on loan and Leeds fan site ozwhitelufc.net details Kishishev’s career and explains his popularity at Elland Road, where he made 10 appearances as they unsuccessfully battled against relegation from the Championship.

When released by the Addicks in June 2007, he chose to join Leicester City on a two-year contract, with boss Martin Allen telling the BBC: “I watched him play against Belarus recently. I wanted to check he still had energy and enthusiasm – and he played well.

“I’m delighted that he has agreed to come here. He gives us some steel in the centre of midfield.”

Unfortunately, the move came during the reign of Milan Mandaric as chairman and managers came and went with alarming regularity. Allen was replaced by Gary Megson, but he only lasted nine games, and then Ian Holloway took over.

Just four months after signing for the Foxes, and having made only six starts plus five appearances as a sub, Kishishev headed back on loan to Leeds.  He told the Leeds website: “I signed a two-year at Leicester and the start wasn’t very good, for the team and myself as well.

“Life changes all the time and I’ve got another spell here and I hope it will be for longer. Once I knew that Gus and Dennis wanted me to come, I agreed 100 per cent.

“I’m happy and I hope I can play some part for Leeds and keep the same standards.”

Just six days after he signed, Poyet quit Leeds to become first team coach at Tottenham and five days after his three-month loan came to an end, Wise moved on to become a director at Newcastle.

Kishishev made only seven appearances in that second spell and it seemed his time in England was over when he chose to move back to Bulgaria and rejoin Litex Lovech.

That was until he was reunited with Poyet once more at Brighton. He was already studying for his UEFA A coaching licence at that time and he has since managed and coached in Bulgaria.

One thought on “Kish and caps invaluable experience in promotion season

Leave a comment